Reverse Culture Shock

Posted: 30/09/2011 in food, Korea, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , ,

It has now been a solid month since I returned to United States.  Though my writing has been quite a bit, it has mostly been my morning pages for NaNoWriMo.  Yet hear this, there is disease you carry back when you come back from Korea.  Here are the symptoms.

Driving Places.  I really like my car and it is freaking awesome to have one.  Yet the romanticized days of roadsters and road trips are as dead as plot of American Graffiti.  Walking about from place to place is actually … nice.  Even in cold weather, it was great to be able to walk down the street to do your grocery shopping, or hop the subway to the pub, or take a bus to church.  Okay, maybe not that last thing.  Buses are never fun.

By the way, did you know I spent about forty dollars a month on transportation in Korea?

Honestly, it feels really good to walk.  Where I am now, I must drive to get the necessities of daily life.  Though if ever need it, I can still walk for the sake of walking.  Which leads to the next symptom.

Fat People.  Okay.  Let be clear on this. Korea has the lowest obesity rate in the civilized world while the United States has the highest.  Yes, I am actually grossed out.  It’s like living in  the mythical elvish land of run-way models and then being hurled into the land of giant hobbits and their ogre masters.  It’s a bit jarring.

There have been a few times when I have actually pushed away the reminder of my restaurant meal because it is just to much.  Which is part of the problem really.  Restaurant plates are just to big.  Yes, everyone your mom conditioned you well to clean your plate.  You were conditioned to not waste food.  Yet at restaurants, its not about your mom or ecology.  It’s a conspiracy by Free Masons.  Order less food please.

Omni-Present Wireless.  I have gone through crazy withdrawls in which I have not been able to check my email, facebook, googlemaps, etc without using 3G.  It is strange having wireless internet only when I am home or at a coffee shop an not everywhere I go.  I miss my omnipresent network.  It is comfortable knowing it is always watching over me.

These three things mean that I am experiencing reverse culture shock.  I feel it is far less of a shock than many people experience.  After all, my stint in Korea was less than a year, while many stay for three or four.  Seriously though, America, stop eating so much.

Leave a Reply

