>The Unforgivable Sin?

Posted: 28/08/2010 in marraige, sex

>Today, I really don’t have a statement or an idea to offer. It is more I have some incomplete thoughts brought on by feelings of disappointment and some frustration. This is more of a question that and issue that needs answering. Most people reading this probably have felt some of the things I have felt about the subject. So, I think I can risk sounding whiny.

Christians are usually willing to look past people’s sins, or at least we know that we are supposed to. We know that we supposed to give love, even if someone is not morally upright. We will extend the right amount of love to the lost, in order that they may be redeemed. Why does this stop short in some issues?

Two stories might help. An acquaintance of mine is dating a someone. His family is very Christian and close knit. It has been an issue of great tension that he is dating a divorcee. This tension is so bad that she is not welcome at family gatherings. While I do not know how serious the relationship is, I know that this acquaintance is a very difficult position. He will have to choose when he should not have to.

There is another all familiar story. A young couple knows they must not have sex before marriage. Like any romantic couple, they want have sex. Following the recommendations of evangelicalism, they get married so as to not live in sin. However, it later becomes apparent that neither partner was ready for marriage, and they divorce. The young divorcee is now welcomed in church as a second-class Christian. This is a familiar story to many, and you reading this can probably put in a few names.

Now, in fairness, not all churches will do this. One of the things I liked about Mosaic was that I never felt like the few divorcees (or otherwise single people) were not fully welcome.

There is still a strong streak of metaphorical stone throwing in many churches. Divorce earns someone a permanent scarlet letter. I have great trouble understanding this kind of shaming in light of grace.

Comments
  1. Dan says:

    >I do believe in the unpardonable sin, and this is NOT it. It's sad that people are shamed in church like this. I think it's becoming history in most churches, but there are of course many churches that still judge. It's unfortunate.

  2. Daniel says:

    >Sadly the church is not as it was intended to be. I understand why, of course, but it sucks. "Christians" just get so hung up on trivial issues that it's no wonder Christianity has such a bad name.There is an interesting explanation of the "Unpardonable Sin" issue by MacArthur here:http://www.biblebb.com/files/macqa/1301-B-8.htm

  3. Stephanie says:

    >My mom was divorced when I was growing up and it was funny because at church, it wasn't that big a deal and she was and is still a respected small group leader amd member of the ministry team. However, at my Christian school it was another story entirely and it seemed that everything I did wrong or if my mother did something the other parents didn't like, it was explained with, "well, you know, they're that single parent family…" I was almost not allowed into the school I went to for high school because my mom was divorced. The thing about it is, the other kids in my class had equally if not more disfunctional families, but at least theirs looked normal on the outside. I think one of reasons Christians get freaked out by divorce is because it scares them and they don't know how to deal with it. It's easier just to push it aside and not look at it and pretend it doesn't happen to us, when the reality is that the divorce rate in the church is almost as high as it is "in the world". Surprise. We're still people, even with Jesus in our hearts. 😉

  4. Jin-roh says:

    >thanks for sharing everyone.Stephanie, I actually think the divorce rate is higher within the Christian subculture, though I could be wrong on that.

  5. Jin-roh says:

    >That was some of the driest infomation I have ever read.I think it interesting that the guy from the SBC pulled the "real Christian" card when faced with the statistics from Barna. It almost creates a heisenberg type issue: the more you know who is a "real Christian" the less accurate your measure of the divorce rate is. The more accurately you measure the divorce rate, the more nominal Christians you include.

Leave a Reply

