>Labor Day Weekend in Review.

Posted: 08/09/2009 in life, LMU, los angeles

>In hindsight, I think I had a pretty rockin’ labor day weekend.

Friday night was the meet ‘n greet night for the new graduate students. There’s nothing like drinking with your fellow students and your professors. It think this is by far one of the most interesting things about being a graduate student. I do this far more often in grad than I did in undergrad.

I met a few of the new students and re-connected with the other second years like myself. I especially liked meeting Valerie’s boyfriend whose name I can’t remember. He recommended to me some obscure BBC sci-fi series: truly, we are kindred spirits.

Saturday, I actually had nice productive day. I worked on comics, artwork, reading and re-reading. I sadly did not have the money to go bar-hopping with Valerie et al. I am, after all, trying to save cash. I am getting sick of going to places that try to separate me from my money anyway. Saturday evening I had the chance to meet with my roommate’s parents and watch “Tropic Thunder” instead. That movie is awesome.

Sunday, I took one of the new students, Jenn, to Mosaic West LA. It is was an “experience.” We later ate some chiptole and talked about our mutual, and fairly similar, experiences with evangelicalism. It seems that we both went to evangelical Christian colleges and found out that we weren’t evangelicals by the time we left. (This is the price of being philosophers). I struggled to explain my reluctantly Keirkegaardian reasons for being involved at mosaic. I listened to her talk about her gripes about hell and sex. It was good meal.

Monday, labor day, I again worked on my comic all afternoon. About 2:00, Adam came over. We prepped meals for the night by shopping. We watched “Hackers” and reminisced about the 90s. Later, Josiah came over and brought some filler for the Vodka I had. I made some Vodka Collins’ and White Russians with Soy milk from the fridge. Our conversations ranged from politics to religion to relationships in the most amicable and honest manner. It was an evening well spent.

What is the moral of the story? Well honestly, I think it might be this: I don’t need to go out and drink anymore. Having been formally trained and practiced as a bartender, I can actually mix whatever I want. When I see the price of liquor, even good stuff, I realize that the mark-up to order a drink at a bar is obscenely high. Furthermore, I realize that the bar atmosphere is not actually conducive to what I want in a evening, which is good conversation maybe followed with some music if there is more than one musician around. I think from now on, I will arrange parties and shindigs in which I buy some Vodka, Rum, etc and ask others to bring the soda and the filler if we want to drink.

Seems a lot more fun that way.

Comments
  1. Stephanie says:

    >So you've discovered that you would rather drink at home… tsk tsk, my friend, you are one step closer to becoming an alcoholic… Tropic Thunder is the awesomist! I didn't think I would like it, but I ended up seeing it twice–in theaters! Which is pretty amazing when you consider that I can count on one hand the number of movies I have seen in theaters in the past year.

  2. Jin-roh says:

    >Is there anything else I should be doing to become an alcoholic?

Leave a Reply

