>Old Movies that I Like

Posted: 20/08/2009 in Movies

>I once said that Netflix was trying to steal my time. In truth, it has succeeded. Over the last couple of months I’ve seen plenty of movies and TV shows. Among them, are many “classics” that I really enjoyed. Here is a small list.

The Big Combo This is the first movie I have ever seen that is truly part of the Film Noir category. The movie was low-budget even by 1950’s standards, but the shadows, the camera work, and the characters all made up for it. You really hate the villain and grow to sympathize with the hero. The story had plenty of unexpected twists and turns without becoming cheesy or unbelievable. It was a great watch.

The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly Personally, I think this move might be better entitled, “The Wicked, the Desperately Stupid, and the Morally Tolerable.” I am convinced that when this movie was released the average American had a longer attention span. The movie is slow to start, very episodic, and contains many loooooong draw-out scenes set to music. I do not think if this movie came out today if it would receive such a great following. Nonetheless, I enjoyed this movie as well, and recommend it for anyone who knows how to concentrate.

A Man for All Seasons. I thought this movie was well-cast, and well played. It was one of those movies that you watch and you ask yourself, “Why am I not watching this as a great play?” The relevance of the religious aspect of the film (and Thomas More’s life) go well beyond Catholicism. It asks, “How can a pure and righteous man live in the worldly mess of politics?” The answer is, “he can’t.” This is probably not a great movie for Anglicans or Christians who hope to hold or influence public office.

The Graduate besides the fact that I now understand certain references in the Simpsons and Wayne’s world, this movie demands only one comment. No body’s love life could possibly be more complicated.

Comments
  1. Heidi says:

    >I love your new title for "The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly!"

Leave a Reply

