>Too Damn Smart to Get Any?

Posted: 01/05/2009 in sex

>

After my previous blog on Ayn Rand and sex I have been hoping to post another follow up relational issues. Thanks to my friend Adam, I have new article that is both funny sad. Why is it that being smart doesn’t get you any?
The article starts quite wittingly:

Smart kids usually come from smart families. And smart families are usually achievement-oriented. Bring me home those straight As, son. Get into those top colleges, daughter. Take piano, violin, tennis, swimming and Tibetan throat-singing lessons. Win every award there is in the book. Be ‘well-rounded.’

At the same time, there’s an opportunity cost associated with achievement. Time spent studying, doing homework, and practicing the violin is time not spent doing other things — like chasing boys or girls, which turns out is fairly instrumental in making you a well-rounded human.

Guilty as charged on my part. It’s what you get when you’re half-asian and descended from educators. I can think of a lot of other people who fit this mold too. Can we really help it if we want to be Renaissance men? Super talented ubermenschen?

Ironically, I believe that it is a drive to accomplish and to have a list of accomplishments that make someone attractive. All other things remaining equal, would you want to date someone who has completed college or someone who didn’t? Or how about someone who plays an instrument well as opposed to with mere proficiency? Is someone with a black-belt in Aikido more or less interesting than someone without?

Intelligent type A personalities have such a horrible catch-22 when it comes to dating. They can attract, but are too busy to do anything about it.

Let’s say by ‘smart’ we mean ‘in the top 5% of the population in terms of intelligence and education’. Generally speaking, smart people seek out other smart people to hang out with, simply because they get bored otherwise. And if they’re going to spend a lot of time with someone, intelligence in a partner is pretty much a requirement.

This makes sense to me for the similar reasons as I explained in the Ayn Rand blog.

I think that healthy, confident, people (perhaps men in particular) seek out their equals. Sadly, those who join MENSA find their pools small. I think the article gives some good advice: loosen up.

I still can’t stand stupid girls though.

Finally there is this.

Here’s an incontrovertible fact: every one of your ancestors survived to reproductive age and got it on at least once with a member of the opposite sex. All the way back to Homo erectus. And even further back to Australopithecus. And even further back to monkeys, to lizards, to the first amphibian that crawled out of the slime, the fish that preceded that amphibian, the worm before the fish and the amoeba that preceded the worm.

And you, YOU, in the year 2009 C.E., the culmination of that miraculously unbroken line of succession, you, Homo sapiens sapiens, not just thinking man but thinking thinking man or woman, are the only one smart enough to SCREW THE WHOLE THING UP.

I actually laughed out loud when I read this. Isn’t intelligence supposed to be an evolutionary advantage? I guess not. This creates a whole new level to future idiocracy.

I dedicate this blog to all my friends who are also token single guys. You all know who you are.

Thanks for reading.

Comments
  1. Heidi says:

    >I like your obvious list of priorities when you interview a potential girlfriend: “What is your highest degree? Do you play a musical instrument? Are you a black belt? Well, nice meeting you!”Also, I laughed quite hard reading this: “I still can’t stand stupid girls though.”

  2. Jin-roh says:

    >Oh thanks for reading into, Heidi! Now there’s just no way I can NOT be an asshole huh?

  3. Adam Goyer says:

    >Exellent review of that article.

  4. D2M says:

    >Ah… The only guy I chased or dated was my husband. I was smart, see, I conserved my time and energy. I waited until a good man came along that was WORTH my time to chase, and then I pounced on him like a large feline chasing a hoofed beasty. He never had a chance. *laughs evilly*But I'm not smart really. It's not like I didn't have the time to chase after guys, but I found it a waste. I much preferred to have my nose in a book or hang out with my friends and family than moon over men.That's just me though.

Leave a Reply

