>Ash Wednesday

Posted: 26/02/2009 in life

>
Yesterday was Ash Wednesday, one of my favorite Holidays.

My work schedule kept from making it to any morning service. This was fine though, since at the coffee shop I saw people walk in with ash crosses on their foreheads. It made me happy. I even made sure that one of the ladies didn’t order the soup with meat in it. She appreciated me “keeping her on task” in her own words.

I did not actually make it to an Ash Wednesday service until 10pm at night. I am glad that LMU is as accommodating as it is -there is a church on campus. I didn’t have to drive anywhere, and just walked to Sacred Heart chapel.

The highlight of the service was the priest’s homily. People sometimes feel that Lent, because it involves “giving up” something, is sober season of legalistic obligation. It also starts with repentance, which is not always fun. (I certainly have somethings to repent for.) Clearly, this priest knew what that kind of feeling is like. But in the homily, he reminded us all that it is actually joyous season. We make sacred part of our lives in order to move more towards Christ and his righteousness. When they say “Turn from sin and live the Gospel” it is not condemnation, but admonishment. Lent is something that we should look foreward to. It gives us a great chance to advert our attention away from something that is bothering us, and towards something that is great.

Happy Lent everybody!

Comments
  1. Q says:

    >I’m giving up Lent for Lent. The beautiful part of this plan is that I can still celebrate Easter.

  2. alexan says:

    >I like this. It hadn’t really occurred to me to think about it that way before.Lent is indeed a somber season – a reminder of the inevitability of death and the presence of sin in our lives, and a walking with Jesus in the wilderness.When I did my advent get-togethers, in some ways I framed my understanding of advent on lent. Why shouldn’t the reverse be true? So, just as advent eagerly awaits the incarnation, lent eagerly awaits the death, and resurrection of Christ.It will not do forget that the purpose of this fast, this somberness, is to prepare oneself for the holiest and most joyous part of the year.

Leave a Reply

