>Musings on the day of infamy

Posted: 08/12/2008 in Uncategorized

>
Okay, okay, so I haven’t blogged in awhile. Honestly, all my work is pouring into papers right now. But today is an important day and warrants some reflection -more than normal reflection.

Today is a day that most of my generation does not think on, but there is still a loyal minority that does. Today was the day the Pearl Harbor was bombed some sixty years ago. I know most of you who read this are not ignorant of history, so I don’t have to go into the significance of that event. Suffice to say, I remember it out of a sense of admiration of the greatest generation. They really rose to the occasion out of a great tragedy. The honored dead that day deserve to be remembered.
But I wonder, why do we remember this day so much but ignore of Aug 14/15? This day was V-J day –victory over Japan. It was the end of violent imperialism. It was the end of fighting. It was the release of POWs. It was the day soldiers were sent home safely. Most importantly, it was the beginning of a reconciliation of two nations. After all, Japan and the United States are now political allies.

I feel that this is the day that should stick in our memories at least as strongly as Pearl Harbor. After all, didn’t this day have a hand in the creation of the world as it is now? Do we not want to remember the end of a war, as well as the beginning?

I guess I am not sure why this is the case. Either way, I hope to remember Aug 14th this coming year too.

Comments
  1. Q says:

    >I was thinking about this yesterday also and wanted post about it, but packing unfortunately kept me away from my computer. I’m glad you took the time to write about it; it definitely is a day that will live infamy.

Leave a Reply

