>An very old post…

Posted: 05/12/2006 in life

>This blog was originally posted on my myspace back in December 2006. Since I pretty much need to dump my myspace, I am entering it hear for posterity

I Am No Longer a Geek

I came to this realization a couple months ago. I think it’s worth blogging about.

First, it’s hard to define exactly what a geek is. I think part of it is being imaginative, having above average intelligence, an interest in technology, and several other things. Practically, this works itself out in maybe strong interest in certain types of media. Anything fantasy or science fiction such as comic books, video games etc. A geek is perhaps someone who becomes an expert in something unreal. This is different than say an interest in literature because literature connects with periods in history and usually tries to connect with real life.

But rather than define “geek” I should say what symptoms I’ve done. I was a geek’s geek. I played Magic the Gathering in middle school. I was an obsessive Star Wars fan at age twelve. I played Dungeons and Dragons in high school and was the Dungeon Master who planned everything. I attended a Star Trek convention with my mother and another friend when I was in the seventh Grade. I’ve played the Warcraft videogame canon since Warcraft II. I posted on message boards Before the internet was popular and everything was still DOS based. I’ve spent hours editting maps in Star Craft. I own an anime series and used to watch a lot at a friend’s house. I attended a Ren-faire in costume and have “boffed.” I build my own computers. I know what the three laws of robotics are. I’ve read LOTR, Dune, and Hitch-hiker’s Guide. I found every last item in Legend of Zelda: Link to the Past. Oh yeah, I enjoyed Starcraft LAN parties at my friend’s house before I even owned a laptop.

I was even the type of person who would argue and talk about this kind of thing. No one complained about that bitch Jar-jar more than me. I still think that Blood Elf paladins have terrible lore behind them. I can tell you about the psychological overtones in Neon Genesis. I can tell you about stuff I read from the original Star Trek encyclopedia. I was the annoying rule Nazi when it came to spells in D&D (you remember that Mitch?).

But since the summer, I’ve realized that I’ve lost interest in this kind of thing, or at least the intensity has greatly diminished. Part of it was saturation in geekiness over the summer. I’d work with people who all worked with computers and videogames. We’d play Counter Strike the last hour of the day. Then I’d go home and play WOW while my roommates tried to beat eachother’s high score in Geometry Wars. Other times, there was the occasional “Drunken FPS” night.

Another thing is that life is to short. I don’t really have the time to sit in front of a TV so I can watch the latest cheesy anime series about dragon-robots controlled by fourteen year-old wizards. Getting together a gaming session has been out of the question for years. And LAN parties? I’d really rather be practicing my Guitar. Stuff like the excess of World of Warcraft (“Birth Control for $15 Dollars a month”) is nothing but an empty sense of accomplishment to me now, and I’ve realized that I’ve never seriously regretted not playing a video game.

Finally, I’ve realized just how weird geek culture can look. I’ve been on the inside of a Dungeon and Dragon’s sessions, so I know that the people sitting around the table see something totally different. But to everyone else, it’s a bunch of skinny nerdy guys sitting around rolling dice, drinking mountian dew and wasting potential. Also, I’ve listened to people argue about comic book characters (something I never got into to), and it sounds utterly absurd to me about how people speculate about how Iron Man might beat so-and-so or how cool it would be Wolverine had stayed feral. I thought boffing was interesting in high school, but why don’t I just get back into Akkido instead? Finally, if you’ve ever seen “Grandma’s Boy” you can get a good look at how sad geek Culture can actually be.

Now I don’t hate geeks. I’m just not one of them. I can no longer relate to that kind of world easily. Also, it could be that I was just never able to balance geek-life with normal life.

The best way I can sum up my personal reaction to it is that geek culture is the shadows on the wall of Plato’s cave. Once you get away from it, you realize that there is a whole different way to live. There are a lot of more important and fulfilling things outside that cave. Real Things.

Comments
  1. Adam Goyer says:

    >A different kind of geekHey Jin, I like what you have to say, I just need to suggest a micro tweek. I hang out with the "Geek/ Tech" scene in LA. I go to the meet ups, Bar Camp, etc. Another kind of geek is the kind of geek that channels all that energy & potential into creative technology, new gadgets, iPhone apps, cutting edge green tech, etc. In other words, people who have found a way not to waste their geek skill points.You've heard me complain how suburbs steal souls. The suburb geek can't get connected to the cutting edge creative stuff, but the urban geek has access to all the advent guard geek tech that makes the world a better place. It's worth thinking about.www.origen-genesis.com

Leave a Reply

